h1

Michael Joseph Jackson (August 29, 1958 – June 25, 2009)

June 26, 2009

Michael Joseph Jackson (August 29, 1958 – June 25, 2009
I remember being woken at the early hours in the morning on 31st August 1997 to see my mum crying as Princess Diana had died in a horrific car accident in Paris. I never cried but i understood why she was so upset. The impact of someone’s passions and beliefs had meant so much to people that also believe in being positive and striving to help people across the globe.

It was not until today that i can truly understand the feeling my mum and millions of others across the world went through with the loss of such as prestigious icon.

The icon of my generation and one of the major influences of our time has died.
The undisputed ‘King of PopMichael Jackson, suffered a heart attack at the age of only 50 and died in LA.

I used to ask my mum, “where were you when Elvis died? When John Lennon got shot? When JFK got assassinated?”
Questions, that i asked out of curiosity as i respected each and every icon of their time and their movements.

“Michael Jackson is the Elvis of our time.” Now i wonder, when my future children ask me, “Dad, what was Michael Jackson like, and where were you when he died?”

“Well, MJ was like no other. His entertainment ability was so natural that he was spoken of as a one-off superstar. A true genius with music. The energy that he carried on and off the stage, inspired millions across the globe to believe that ‘change’ (no matter how cliche) is possible.

I was 24, and had just finished University studying my Music Degree and will never forget the feeling that the most iconic person i have ever witnessed had passed away.
I will forever listen to his music and remember that his ability to produce countless hits has inspired me personally to pursue a career within music.”

Thank you for your music, your expressions, your beliefs and your endless sense of hope.

It will never be forgotten. Rest In Piece Michael. You truly deserve it.

Michael Joseph Jackson (August 29, 1958 – June 25, 2009)

4 comments

  1. Such a lovely tribute Luca. I like you and millions of people around the world was shocked to the core when i heard he had passed away. I didn’t want too and refused to believe it but it didn’t make it stop. MJ revolutionary changed music and his inner kindness and desire to help children and people was truly inspiring and admiring.

    We have his music and for that i am greatful, because whenever we need him he will be there just like he said, but i still feel a deep emptyness within my heart knowing MJ is not with us anymore and i doubt that emptyness will ever go.

    I honestly feel that we will never see another showman with so much natural talent come even close to what MJ gave us from the age of 5 til he died. I will never stop playing his music.

    R.I.P MJ x


    • Thanks Stacey for taking the time to read my tribute. Everything you have said is completely right, and we share the same emptiness inside that will hopefully diminish in time.

      Our generation grew up loving his music and admiring his energy to believe and his lyrics were spoken so truly to his philosophies.

      It is so sad that he was exploited continuously by the media and his life was manipulated in to becoming a joke, when his real fans know full well that he was too kind-hearted to have ever committed any crimes.

      The hardest part is knowing that as spectators we will never know the full details behind his death, and it will remain as much of a conspiracy as does the death of Princess Diana.

      As you have stated; never in our life time will we benefit from another natural talent that will take the world by storm. Today’s’ artists have been modeled on Michael and as much of a talent they may be, they are mere imitations of the King of Pop.

      Thank you for your passage and I hope you check out the rest of the tribute posts I have made. I will be dedicating all my posts to MJ until Thursday, hence this being Michael Jackson Tribute Week.

      iAm Luca x


  2. Hey Luca,

    Just stumbled acrosss your MJJ Tribute after finding my way to the Jaguar Skills Mix & following the links. I know it’s 9 months after you first posted your message but even now the pain & sadness at losing my hero is still incredibly raw & I still can’t believe a world without Michael Jackson.

    You’re very right about how the day Michael passed away is a younger generation’s equivalent of Elvis,


  3. Hey Luca,

    Just stumbled acrosss your MJJ Tribute after finding my way to the Jaguar Skills Mix & following the links. I know it’s 9 months after you first posted your message but even now the pain & sadness at losing my hero is still incredibly raw & I still can’t believe a world without Michael Jackson.

    You’re very right about how the day Michael passed away is a younger generation’s equivalent of Elvis, JFK or Diana dying but aside from the magnitude of the world’s loss, on a personal level it’s the most painful thing I have ever experienced in my 37 year life & the reason’s simple … unlike 95% of the people that only realised Michael’s importance AFTER he died, I’d never stopped believing. In the harsh, judgemental, media-driven world in which we live in, it’s easy to see why Michael had turned into a figure of ridicule but despite everything else I could NEVER see beyond what he gave me as a fan of music and that was a genuine sense of wonderment & magic.

    It was with this admiration that even through his darkest hours, I could never forget quite how he made me feel when I first heard the Bad Album or saw him glide across a stage like no-one else. I’m a passionate football fan. I devour many books & I have a deep love of films. Musically, nothing gives me greater pleasure than hearing something new that really hits the spot & Michael Joseph Jackson rocked my world in the Summer of 1988 when I first saw him at Wembley & changed my life forever. The music, video’s, performances … all created a sense of excitement that other artists could only dream of. Perhaps that’s what set MJJ apart – he was a dreamer and boy, were we a better world because of it.

    I guess I’m rambling now but I just wanted to say great message & nice tribute … Michael Jackson may now be gone & I feel like I’ve lost part of my soul but we’ll always have his music & our memories, thankyou MJJ – you rocked our world x



Leave a Reply

